Valid for: Mail Basic and Mail Business

This article explains how to free up storage space in Webmail so that you can delete emails again.

If deleting an email fails with an error message, you have probably reached your storage limit. Deleted emails can then no longer be moved to the trash, so the deletion is canceled. Here is how to free up storage space.

  • Log in to IONOS Webmail.
  • In the main navigation at the top right, click the gear icon (tooltip Settings).
The Settings icon is highlighted in the main navigation in Webmail.
The Settings icon is highlighted in the main navigation in Webmail.
  • Click All settings …. The Settings window opens.
The All settings menu item is highlighted in the Settings menu in Webmail.
The All settings menu item is highlighted in the Settings menu in Webmail.
  • In the navigation bar on the left, click Mail.
  • Scroll down and click Advanced settings.
The Advanced settings section is highlighted in the Mail section of the Settings window in Webmail.
The Advanced settings section is highlighted in the Mail section of the Settings window in Webmail.
  • Under Behavior, enable the Permanently remove deleted emails option. The setting is saved automatically.
The Permanently remove deleted emails option is highlighted under Advanced settings in the Mail section of the Settings window.
The Permanently remove deleted emails option is highlighted under Advanced settings in the Mail section of the Settings window.

Note

From now on, deleted emails are no longer kept as a copy in the Trash folder and therefore cannot be restored.